Wedding Cake Toppers

The vast world of cake toppers, there are now so many variations on the traditional bride and groom cake topper you’ll be sure to find something to suit your wedding theme and highlight your personality.

In my personal experience I didn’t want to go for the traditional bride and groom figures due to the significant height difference of nearly a foot between me and my partner, coupled with my mixed race complexion I was worried as to how we would find anything reflective of our images.

In my hunt for an alternative I enlisted the help of my sister in-law who found a spectrum of weird and wonderful cake toppers from woolly goldfish more upmarket diamanté embellished initials, and the main source of these cake toppers was of course Etsy. Now in the end I didn’t purchase anything from Etsy as most of my preferences were from overseas and I find the end prices with postage to be a little to rich for me, but it was the best place to do my research.

Items similar to Mint Green Lovebirds with Crowns – Custom Birds Wedding Cake Toppers on Etsy, a global handmade and vintage marketplace..

My choice was to go for our initials on white painted wooden letters, which I made myself. I found a company on-line who laser cut wooden letters you can also find plenty of wooden letters on eBay but I managed to find a good value for money option with http://www.woodenlettersworld.co.uk/ @£1.70 per letter. I then painted these white with a wood paint from my local B&Q at around £5 for a tin. To jazz up the finish and tie the cake topper into my wedding theme I then used up the left over gold leaf from the stationery and dabbed a bit of glue on and then the allowed the gold leave to crinkle on as I place it on the painted wood.

Cake table_2 Cake table_3

2 thoughts on “Wedding Cake Toppers

Leave a Reply

